Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
RLR - help please (Read 4616 times)
beadbabe
Gold Forum Member

UK
RLR - help please
Nov 13th, 2007, 4:23am

As you may or may not know I have started a gym program twice per week for complete novices as part of my 'get well' campaign.

But now I am starting to panic about it. The last two times I have been I have had funny turns with my heart. I warm up using the exercise bike (10 minutes). It is not exactly hard going - I am not that out of breath or putting in masses of effort. BUT these last two times I have gone all dizzy and sweaty and my heart has been absolutely racing - I don't think I could estimate.
My heart is really really fast - I would find it quite hard to tap out with my fingers and I can feel the adrenaline kind of pulsing with it (dont know if that makes sense).

What I don't understand is that when I do the treadmill (only 5km/hr walking) and the rowing machine which is harder work all round my heart isn't struggling and going into overdrive. What I am trying to say is on the bike, the racing heart doesn't feel appropriate for the exercise.

Is it anything to do with warm-up?

IP Logged
RLR
YaBB Administrator

Retired Physician

Re: RLR - help please
Reply #1 - Nov 13th, 2007, 1:57pm

Glad to hear you're working toward such an outstanding goal. Keep up the good work.

What you have to realize is that the bike will create an increased demand by the heart because of the muscle groups being used on the bike versus the treadmill or rowing machine. The larger the muscle group and the more it is imposed upon to perform, necessitates greater demand on the heart. Certainly, your present level of conditioning will have a dramatic effect on heart rate, etc. The legs are certainly in the large muscle group and depending upon specific demand, ie walking versus pedaling, the demand can change dramatically.