Fear and fainting (Read 4055 times)
Nat2012
Forum Newbies

Heart Palpitations
Forum

Fear and fainting
Dec 17th, 2012, 12:33pm

Hello RLR

First of all, may I say this forum and what you do is wonderful, and I imagine that your wife would be extremely proud of what you do.

My question stems around the vagus nerve and fainting. I have seen you mention in a couple of posts that extreme fear may cause an individual to faint.

I have had significant health anxiety for the past couple of years (I'm 22 and have been evaluated by a cardiologist with an ECHO, ECG and event monitor, all normal thankfully)

One of my concerns is that a panic attack would cause me to faint. I have never in my life fainted, so the anticipation of what it would be like plays a big role in my fear.

However, I work as a Midwife - (so I am rather ashamed to be illogical about health matters!) - and I am newly qualified. I have been in some emergencies and coped well, however I still can't stem the fear of being in a particularly frightening situation one day, and simply fainting from the fear.

When I panic, I do not usually feel dizzy, however I get a horrible sensation in my chest and that "impending doom" feeling.

I was just curious - are certain individuals more prone to vasovagal syncope from fear than others?? I suppose I'm trying to say, if I haven't fainted yet (and I have 'tested' my body by being in some stressful situations as you can imagine, but I always wonder in cases of having to do something extremely stressful like maternal CPR) do you think there is a chance I could? Or has my vagus nerve demonstrated it is pretty dynamic in coping?

Thankyou very much for your time

Natalie

IP Logged
bigcountry

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: Fear and fainting
Reply #1 - Dec 17th, 2012, 4:26pm

You are never going to faint....it is one of Anxietys trick.  You have a fear of it so it comes around and you feel dizzy...that dizzy feeling is caused by your breathing and nothing else...